Problem connecting a new spark core to iMac shared internet connection wifi

Hello all, I am a newbie here. Just got my spark core. I have problem connecting it to the wifi and wondering if anyone here has any pointers for me.

It’s basically the forever blinking green problem, with a little twist which is, it happens only with WPA2 security. It can connect fine if I change my wifi to be an unsecured network (which is not ideal obviously)

I am on OSX 10.9.5, Wifi network is shared through internet sharing from the iMac. I tried channel 1, 2 and 11. And with all of them, I can connect if there is no password and can’t connect when there is one. Security type of an Internet sharing wifi on OSX 10.9.5 can only either be None or WPA2, but just to try different things, I tried using WPA in the wifi credential as well, but that doesn’t help.

I have tried setting up the connection using iPhone as well as through the USB interface (with “screen”) All the same - works when the wifi has no password and doesn’t work when there is one.

I have also tried updating the firmware of the CC3000 according to the instructions I found in the docs, i.e. using dfu-util and spark-cli, etc. Not helping either. Also tried repeating all the above after resetting firmware to factory settings. No luck either.

Any one has any suspicion on what it could be, if it can only connect without a password? Any pointers greatly appreciated. Otherwise, next step I am going to get a proper wifi router to try it out. Or the other direction (somewhat shooting darts in the dark :slight_smile: - could it be related to the AES key?

Thanks in advance everyone!

Albert

Have you checked shorter WPA2 passwords or have you got any “funny” characters in your pwd?

Can you connect other (none Apple ;-)) devices to your AP with the same settings?

Good advice from @ScruffR above but I have one more thing to try: